Residential Office Retail Hotel / Leisure

Real Estate Developers Study 2021

Superficial stability in new construction in A-cities

  • Apartments: Project developments stable thanks to active portfolio holders
  • Offices: The segment is growing moderately, but listlessly
  • Hotels: Hardly any new ones in planning
  • Migration: Many large residential project developers are increasingly building in the metropolitan hinterland

The Project Developer Study 2021 shows: Project developments in the seven A-cities are almost unchanged compared to the previous year. This is also due to the fact that a phase of stagnation at a high level had already occurred before the Corona crisis. Investor-developers are still taking risks on the balance sheet that trader-developers are no longer willing to bear. In 2020, project areas declined only marginally by minus 0.1%.

Once again, investor-development projects, i.e. developments for owner-occupation and portfolio maintenance, stabilised the market development with +1.3 million sqm (+6.3%), even more so than in the last year of analysis. This is particularly true of flats, but also offices. Hotels and retail are again losing project space; hotels, as expected, very significantly.

In contrast, the "classic" trading developments, i.e. developments for the purpose of sale, have again lost project space volume with -1.3 million sqm (-4.7%), and this with a further growing trend. A high decline was already measured in the last study. Now the new value exceeds this by more than double, also because planning was postponed or only very hesitantly newly created. This mainly affects office, retail and hotel.

About the study "Real Estate Developers Study for the German A-Cities 2021"

For the 15th time, the independent analysis and consulting company bulwiengesa has examined the market for project developments in the seven German A-cities Berlin, Munich, Hamburg, Frankfurt/Main, Düsseldorf, Cologne and Stuttgart. Based on more than 5,200 individual projects, the structure and volume of the project development market were analysed and evaluated city by city. The focus was on the types of use office, residential, retail and hotel.

Contact:

Ellen Heinrich, heinrich@bulwiengesa.de, Telefon +49 89 - 2323 7633

You might also be interested in

For our magazine, we have summarized relevant topics, often based on our studies, analyses and projects, and prepared them in a reader-friendly way. This guarantees a quick overview of the latest news from the real estate industry.

Double meaning: subsidised housing as an investment

For many years, investors gave subsidised housing and social housing a wide berth. But now the turnaround in interest rates is making subsidised housing more attractive for them again, and transactions are increasing. For a joint study with INDUSTRIA, we analysed subsidised housing from an investment perspective.
>

Sustainability favours transformation - actually

Not every existing property "works" anymore. What to do? Demolish and rebuild or transform and reuse? We asked around 200 experienced players and, together with Union Investment, have now published the second market analysis on transformation properties.
>

Mixed risks

Twice a year we prepare economic forecasts and derive key figures for the various real estate segments. According to this, the caesuras in the economy affect the logistics, residential, office and retail segments very differently. In general, the picture is not as gloomy as it is often conveyed. A summary
>

Interesting publications

Here you will find studies and analyses, some of which we have prepared on behalf of customers or on our own initiative based on our data and market expertise. You can download and read many of them free of charge here.

The 5 % Study 2022 - where it still pays off to invest

bulwiengesa has analyzed the potential returns of the German real estate markets for the eighth time.
>

bulwiengesa Property Market Index 2022

No bend, on the contrary: real estate prices have been rising for 17 years
>

Study on the future of the German care real estate market

Care real estate - A comprehensive study has shed light on the future of the German care real estate market
>

Wohnen Büro Einzelhandel Hotel / Freizeit

Projektentwicklerstudie 2021

Oberflächliche Stabilität beim Neubau in den A-Städten

  • Wohnungen: Projektentwicklungen stabil dank aktiver Bestandshalter
  • Büros: Das Segment wächst moderat, aber lustlos
  • Hotels: Kaum mehr neue in Planung
  • Abwanderung: Viele große Wohn-Projektentwickler bauen verstärkt im Umland der Metropolen

Die Projektentwicklerstudie 2021 zeigt: Die Projektentwicklungen in den sieben A-Städten sind im Vergleich zum Vorjahr nahezu unverändert. Das liegt auch daran, dass bereits vor der Corona-Krise eine Stagnationsphase auf hohem Niveau eingetreten war. Investor-Developer nehmen noch Risiken auf die Bilanz, die Trader-Developer nicht mehr tragen wollen. 2020 gingen die Projektflächen lediglich marginal um minus 0,1 % zurück.

Wieder haben dabei die Investor-Development-Projekte, also die Entwicklungen zur Eigennutzung und Bestandshaltung, mit +1,3 Mio. qm (+6,3 %) die Marktentwicklung stabilisiert, und zwar noch deutlicher als im letzten Analysejahr. Dies trifft besonders auf Wohnungen, aber auch Büros zu. Hotels und Einzelhandel verlieren erneut Projektflächen; Hotels, wie zu erwarten, sehr deutlich.

Die „klassischen“ Trading-Developments, also Entwicklungen zum Verkaufszweck, haben dagegen mit -1,3 Mio. qm (-4,7 %) erneut Projektflächenvolumen verloren, und zwar mit weiter wachsender Tendenz. Bereits in der letzten Studie wurde ein hoher Rückgang gemessen. Nun übertrifft der neue Wert diesen um mehr als das Doppelte, auch weil Planungen verschoben oder nur sehr zögerlich überhaupt neu erstellt wurde. Dies betrifft vor allem Büro, Handel und Hotel.

 

Über die Studie „Der Markt für Projektentwicklungen in den deutschen A-Städten 2021“

Das unabhängige Analyse- und Beratungsunternehmen bulwiengesa hat zum 15. Mal den Markt für Projektentwicklungen in den sieben deutschen A-Städten Berlin, München, Hamburg, Frankfurt/Main, Düsseldorf, Köln und Stuttgart untersucht. Auf Basis von über 5.200 einzelnen Projekten wurden die Struktur und das Volumen des Projektentwicklermarktes analysiert und städteweise ausgewertet. Dabei wurde der Fokus auf die Nutzungsarten Büro, Wohnen, Einzelhandel und Hotel gesetzt.

 

Ansprechpartnerin:

Ellen Heinrich
heinrich@bulwiengesa.de
Tel. +49 89 23 23 76 33

 

Downloads
Dokument
Dokument
Beispielliste334.42 KB
Dokument
Dokument
Dokument
Methodik340.34 KB
Dokument

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Für unser Magazin haben wir relevante Themen, häufig auf Basis unserer Studien, Analysen und Projekte, zusammengefasst und leserfreundlich aufbereitet. So ist ein schneller Überblick über Aktuelles aus der Immobilienbranche garantiert.

Baulandmodelle: Gut gedacht, schlecht gemacht?

Auflagen beim Neubau sollen für mehr geförderten Wohnraum sorgen. Was nützen Baulandmodelle? Das haben wir im Auftrag von Pandion für Berlin, Düsseldorf, Hamburg und München untersucht. Klar ist: Die freifinanzierten Wohnungen der Projekte werden dadurch teurer. In Boomzeiten war das realisierbar – aber jetzt?
>

Im Umland wird’s heiß

Die Wohnwetterkarte, die wir erneut mit BPD erarbeitet haben, zeigt erstmals eine Trendwende an zahlreichen Standorten. So heizt sich das Umland der Kernstädte stärker auf als diese selbst; der Wohnungsdruck in den Umlandgemeinden steigt. In der interaktiven Karte können Sie die Temperatur Ihrer Gemeinde ablesen
>

Chart des Monats Oktober: Nachfrageüberhang und Kaufzurückhaltung

Die Fundamentaldaten für den deutschen Wohnungsmarkt sind weiterhin positiv. Allerdings ist es für Investoren kaum mehr möglich, Inflationsschutz zu erhalten. Die 5 %-Studie 2022 zeigt, wie unterschiedlich Marktchancen und Rendite sind
>

Interessante Publikationen

Hier finden Sie Studien und Analysen, die wir teilweise im Kundenauftrag erstellt haben oder in Eigenregie auf Basis unserer Daten und Martexpertise. Viele können Sie kostenfrei hier herunterladen und lesen.

ETW-Studie Berlin Ost 2022

Neubauprojekte Eigentumswohnungen in Berlin Ost 2022
>

Studie: Baulandmodelle und deren Auswirkungen auf den Wohnungsmarkt

Im Auftrag von Pandion haben wir die Baulandmodelle von Berlin, Düsseldorf, Hamburg und München und deren Auswirkungen auf den Wohnungsmarkt untersucht
>

US Multifamily Monitor 2. Halbjahr 2022

Ein Marktreport von bulwiengesa für GAR German American Realty GmbH
>